For Scarlett

For Scarlett

This is my buddy, Scarlett. It’s her first birthday coming up this weekend, and she’s moving. She’s going with her parents to live in the Altoona area, a couple of hours from here. She’s just starting to like to be read to, so I got her a book called “No Matter What,” by Debi Gliori. It’s about Small, who is having a bad day, and he’s wondering if Large will still love him, no matter what. I thought the last few lines were fitting:

“But does love wear out?
Does it break or bend?
Can you fix it or patch it?
Does it mend?”

“With time together, a smile, and a kiss–
love can be mended with things like this.”

“But what about when you’re far away?
Does your love go too, or does it stay?”

“Look up at the stars.
They’re far, far away.
But their light reaches us
at the end of each day.”

About imaleda

I like to take my camera, get in my car, and see where I end up. Could be an infamous or historic place, a cemetery, some kind of disturbance (like a pipeline) or just some place I haven't been before. Then I take pictures and write about it. Currently in the Washington, Pa., area, but open to suggestions! Connect with me through this site or below on Facebook and Patreon. Support independent journalism!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

